Light Painting 101

This is my first proper post – very exciting!

I thought a good introduction might be to upload a few of my recent “light paintings” and explain how I got these shots. Light painting is basically the most fun you can have with photography and I recommend trying it out!

All you will need is a tripod, a camera with exposures up to 8-10 seconds and some lights!

1. Set the camera up on the tripod (or a solid surface)

2. Set the camera to a long exposure (either 8 or 10 seconds will do)

3. It’s a good idea to have the camera on a timer as pressing the shutter button could shake the picture and turn the lights out!

4. Once the camera starts taking the photo you can start “drawing” and making patterns with your light source (be it torch/lighter/sparkler). You can get amazing abstract shots here!

You can even write letters – slightly more difficult!

Luckily for me, last week was full of fireworks from Bonfire Night – the perfect opportunity to practice some light painting!

These fireworks shots required a slightly different procedure – here I used a 2 second exposure rather than 8. Also, rather than avoiding camera shake with a tripod I moved my camera to enhance the pattern!

I urge you all to have a go at light painting! Although on Fireworks Night my hands were so cold an shaky it would have been difficult to get a straight shot anyway!

I'd love to hear your opinion!

