Looking Back…

Last week I sat drafting a post on style inspiration; from Fifties icons to Modern Day, from hair and make up to fashion and style. There was so much to say I realised it’s something that needs to be split up in several posts!

When I started the beauty section, my research went straight to the 1960s: my favourite decade. As I assembled my Sixties icons I realised there was a similar vein that ran through each of their looks…. and my own!

Excuse the Instagram selfie – but this is the make up I wear everyday. It’s pretty simple (partly because I am very lazy).

Now, when I compare this to the images I chose for the Inspiration post…

sixties

L-R:  Brigitte Bardot, Francoise Hardy, Jane Birkin and Audrey Hepburn

They all seem to share large defined dark eyes (including winged eyeliner and big eyelashes), nude/pink lips, pink cheeks and a blunt fringe!

This completely sums up my simplistic approach to make up – clearly my Sixites icons influenced my style more than I realised! As I stared at Francoise Hardy I also realised we have the same hair – no matter how hard I try to be Brigitte, my hair remains stubbornly straight, flat and brunette!

Who are your favourite beauty icons?

4 thoughts on “Looking Back…

  1. Pingback: Ten Reasons to be Grateful for Sixties Fashion. | Thrifting Through Life

  2. And you can trace much of that strategy back to a 2008 memo by San Francisco’s master of
    crisis communications, Sam Singer. Not every person will agree that games
    cheat systems are the right things to be used while playing games.
    The Rothschilds are striking out in many new directions behind a silver curtain of
    discretion.

  3. Exceptional post but I was wanting to know if you could write a
    litte more on this topic? I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little
    bit further. Kudos!

I'd love to hear your opinion!

