Style Crush: The Dungaree

Dungarees. Some rompers best left in childhood? Fashion no-no’s belonging solely to the Eighties and Nineties? Like them or not, they’ve been slowly making a comeback over the last few years. They now come in so many varieties; long, short, dark light, plain, printed, skirted, shorts… 

And I want a pair.

I think we should turn to Alexa Chung who, in my view, is the chief Advocate of the Dungaree.

My favourite Chungarees (I went there) are of the dark variety, avoiding the typical over-sized style. This makes the look chic and stylish, as opposed to childish and unflattering (we’ve all seen those sort right?). This look is especially effective when worn with a Breton stripe top or polka dot sheer blouse. Lovely.

chungarees

But Chung isn’t the only celebrity with a propensity toward the dungaree…

dungarees

Jameela Jamil, Cara Delevingne and Daisy Lowe all rocking the dungarees here. (I don’t know who Top Right is but I had to include it – I love it).

Not just for a festival look, as I hope I’ve demonstrated, the dungarees are a versatile must-have! Luckily, we appear to be inundated with options for our purchases now…

dungareeshop1. Jameela Jamil at Very – £29
2. Newlook – £22.99
3. ASOS – £45
4. Miss Selfridge – £39 

Options, options…

What are your opinions on the dungaree? I love comments, go! =]

2 thoughts on “Style Crush: The Dungaree

  1. Pingback: When “Popping Into Town” Goes Wrong. | Thrifting Through Life

  2. Pingback: FFM Totally Digs Funky Dungarees for Spring 2013 « FastFoodMom (FFMs)

I'd love to hear your opinion!

