Rihanna for River Island: AW13.

Friends, thank you for your suggestions as to what I should write about tonight. I got a fantastic suggestion via twitter from Amelia Jumps, who suggested I share my thoughts on Rihanna’s collection for River Island. Thank you Amelia (I hope you guys all check out her blog)! Having once worked at RI, I feel a connection and personal interest for this particular show.

It was only yesterday that Rihanna debuted her long-waited first fashion show at London Fashion Week with her Rihanna for River Island collection, but in that time she has created a huge buzz with her eye-catching range!

After viewing the collection myself, it was exactly what I had expected Rihanna to create; a casual yet chic selection with a strong Nineties Urban vibe. Featuring split hems, bomber jackets, combat boots, block colours, slip dresses and high necked crop tops, I felt rather like I was watching a fashion show straight out of The Fresh Prince – except for the lack of Will Smith, of course!

riri1 riri2

My favourite pieces are the dungarees (is it still a dungaree if it’s two pieces?), the beautiful black and white floral print and the sheer fabric maxi dresses/slip dresses. After watching an interview with the designing diva herself I must admit, I fell a little more for the collection. Rihanna’s aim for this range was to design something casual yet chic, which allows all body-types to express their character and edginess in a way that is comfortable to them and without trying to hard. I think this is an aim we can all respect and something more designers should perhaps pay attention to.

The simplicity of the collection allows it to communicate a variety of moods without looking over the top and the versatility of this collection has really grown on me over the course of writing this piece! Although, I can’t help but wish this collection had been part of the SS13 LFW – this is an Autumn Winter collection designed for a British based brand and even the bravest fashionista would not brave the Winter sub-zero temperatures without donning a large coat and thick tights first in this collection! Perhaps Rihanna should throw in a few of her signature bomber jackets and beanie hats?

In summary, a huge congratulations to Rihanna, who has produced a fantastic first collection. But really, did we ever doubt her in the first place?

I’m even more excited about my trip to London Fashion Week tomorrow! I’ll keep you all posted!

One thought on “Rihanna for River Island: AW13.

  1. Pingback: Fashion || London Fashion Week Autumn Winter 2013 – Rihanna for River Island Collection | Lux Life By NY Shoe Diva

I'd love to hear your opinion!

