Girly Post: Make-Over Season

I don’t know about you, but some of my favourite movies scenes are those which feature a great make over! Is it because it goes to show how we can change ourselves; from geek to gorgeous, goth to glamour, Groucho Marx to Anne Hathway? Is it the fantastic dry humour that often accompanies the scene? Is it because this is an extension of my love of dress-up? Or is it the fact that the character also changes, growing in self confidence and eventually overcoming their problems to provide an inspiring end scene? I don’t know, whatever the reason, I love them!

Here are some of my favourites!

St. Trinians 

The Princess Diaries

The Parent Trap

She’s All That

Let’s not forget about the great makeovers which I couldn’t share (either they lack the classic montage scene or they aren’t available online, boo): Andy in Devil Wears Prada, Vivian in Pretty Woman, Sabrina in the aptly named Sabrina, Jo in Funny Face and Eliza in My Fair Lady (Audrey Hepburn is the makeover Queen!). Oh and of course, Mrs Doubtfire – although I’m not sure that’s quite in the same vein… 

The power of great hair and make-up to give us that little boost (or to look like our newly discovered twin) is a lesson we can all take away from this. So give yourself a little TLC tonight and feel amazing and confident tomorrow morning. Get primping! And yes, that’s primping not pimping.

If there’s any classics I’ve missed out, or if you just want to bask in the fun that is the makeover, comment below! =]

13 thoughts on “Girly Post: Make-Over Season

I'd love to hear your opinion!

