My First Skirt.

I’m currently feeling pretty impressed with myself because this evening I made a skirt. My first textiles project! I’m far from a pro at anything like this, so I’m pleasantly surprised it turned out so well. Not that I can claim all the credit – the sewing machine is my sister’s and the condition of me using it is that she has to do the sewing herself – so all I had to do was measure and cut the pattern and pin it!

1edit 2edit 3edit 4edit 5edit 6edit 7edit 10edit 11edit

If you’re wondering how to make this skirt, the pattern is here. It’s super easy to follow and all you need is a measuring tape, half a yard of fabric, a safety pin, elastic and pins. Oh and a sewing machine is pretty useful too. It took about 20-30 minutes, depending on how quickly you work. Easy.

My piece is slightly inspired by Felder Felder’s SS13 collection as I fell in love with their high waisted floaty skirts.  These icy blue Sumer must-haves even featured what appeared to be animal print like mine (but Felder Felder actually used a pattern of butterfly’s wings – God these guys are so cool). My skirt is actually a velvet sort of material, whereas theirs is sheer but I like to think there’s a slight resemblance. No?

felderfelder

My sister Kate, on the other hand, has gone for a very futuristic Sci-Fi style skirt. This wasn’t intentional – she was just using up some old material. When I saw the electric blue shiny material I wasn’t convinced, but since seeing the pictures of her modelling it and viewing it from a catwalk perspective, I actually think it’s pretty cool!

So that’s been my evening – you can’t say I haven’t been productive!

2 thoughts on “My First Skirt.

I'd love to hear your opinion!

