January Cosmetics Haul

I’ve been a bit of a busy bee this weekend! On Saturday I took a trip to Southampton for a friend’s birthday. I managed to resist the lure of West Quay shopping- bar a cheeky purchase or two in The Body Shop and Accessorize! In the evening I made my first visit to Cafe Rouge for a family meal. The food was delicious and rather beautiful (as you may have seen on my Twitter/Instagram feed). By Sunday I was in need of a quiet fay and took myself and a long shopping list of cosmetics to Boots, before heading home to watch Clueless – a perfect lazy Sunday. I’m finally starting to document my purchases, so this is my January Cosmetics Haul!

Zingy and Zangy…

These shower gels came highly recommended to me from my friends. I’m not a big Body Shop shopper, but these shower gels smell delicious – the orange is my favourite, although the other reminds me of Strawberry laces! Yum!

1a

Sit back and relax…

After visiting Boots on Sunday, I had a quick look in a generic bargain home store and found these reduced price Montagne Jennesse face masks. It’s always worth stocking up on this sort of stuff, so I bought 3 for £2. My face will be imperfection-free by February.

1b

hair care…

I am the ambivalent owner of rather fine, rather long hair. Whilst I’m fond of the length (except for the terrible tangles and knots) it can get weighed down and flat. I’ve always wanted thick long hair, so when I saw Mark Hill’s Big It Up shampoo and conditioner, I couldn’t resist. Happily I’d actually run out of shampoo, so the timing was perfect. I’ll let you know if it works! I also needed to reinvest in dry shampoo, having run out months ago. Batiste is one of my tried and tested brands, I figured I can’t go wrong there. To explain the clips purchase, I love to dry my hair using sectioning grips (as I’ve mentioned, I have a lot of hair) and as these were pretty cheap and could save me a few precious minutes everyday.

1c

 powder on and pucker up…

The top item on my shopping list was Collection 2000 Lasting Perfection concealer and I  La Roche Posay’s Effaclar Duo cream after reading rave reviews from bloggers and forum people alike. Both happened to be out of stock, which is pretty annoying, but I did cross off a couple of other products.

I’ve been neglecting face powder – which I know is bad because it increases the staying power of foundation and concealer by a lot. Having failed me in my hunt for concealer, Collection made up for it with a great face powder in my shade (i.e. vampire white) and a Deluxe Lipstick in a dark berry shade – I think it’s Prohibition. The last thing on my list was to try Revlon’s Colorburst Balm – I didn’t know which colour to buy and after a small tantrum (cosmetic shopping is difficult), I settled for a vintage pink called Elusive. Is it just me that gets stressed when it comes to picking lipstick shades? If anyone has colour suggestions I would really love to hear!

1d

 What are your must-have products that you can’t live without? Is there anything on your cosmetic wishlist? Comment below!

I'd love to hear your opinion!

